How to Find and Dig Ginseng

Of all the ways I know to make money from nature, digging wild herbs is the most lucrative, specifically ginseng. In 2013, I saw wild Kentucky ginseng roots bring from $500 per dried pound at the start of ginseng season  to $800 per dried pound by Thanksgiving. Ginseng from the other states I checked on, specifically Ohio and North Carolina, were bringing even more. I’m told that ginseng from Maine and Vermont bring the best prices, but those states also have some extremely strict ginseng laws.

Except for maybe gold, at $500 or more a pound, ginseng is about the most lucrative treasure that most of us can find in nature in the eastern United States, but to make money from harvesting ginseng you have to know:

HOW TO FIND GINSENG

HOW TO DIG, WASH AND DRY IT

WHERE TO SELL IT AND HOW TO GET THE BEST PRICE FOR IT

WHAT THE LAWS ARE

As I stated in a previous article, get it wrong and either make no money at all for your efforts or – gasp – end up paying a huge fine and/or going to jail. No worries, though, I’ll walk you through it in my e-book coming out in the fall of 2014.

My family has been digging roots for generations and generations. My dad has been a root digger for over fifty years, hubby for almost twenty years, and I am a recent convert. I have picked their brains, gotten pictures, researched the laws and am putting together a comprehensive e-book on digging ginseng that will tell you and show you what you need to know to get started digging the green gold and to make money from it. As far as I am aware, this is the first of its kind, because most root diggers do not want to give away their secrets!

Ginseng is rare, and almost NOBODY who knows how to find it
WANTS ANY COMPETITION.

I will make this e-book available in the fall of 2014 so that you can read up and be ready to make some money digging and selling ginseng by the next ginseng season.

Leave a Reply

